Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
I'm not so sure that honey bees make an less honey in a TBH. It is just that these hives (TBH) aren't set-up, by design, to extract honey via of a commercial extractor. Rather, TBH offers either crushing and straining or raw cut cumb harvesting.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Also in the areas where the TBH was design for (Africa) the wax harvest was just as important as the honey harvest.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I for one would like to change the perception that people who keep bees in topbars are not particularly interested in honey production. I hesitate to go into much detail because I know it will draw fire.

I am somewhat new to keeping so I have no point of reference but I have designed my hive to have almost the same interior volume as a lang hive with 2 deep brood boxes and 2 honey supers. I got 5 gallons of honey this year from one hive. Is that good? I also got about 3 pounds of wax.

Curtis

·
Banned
840 Posts
There are a number of people who are honey producers in top bar hives. I don't think it fair to say it can't be done, only that it isn't 'typical.

Les Crowder is probably one of the greater examples of getting good honey production out of horizontal top bar hives.

Much of it is how the hive is managed and monitored. It takes a bit more work to get the kind of yields from a tbh that a lang will produce with less attention to it.

Personally, for my honey production, I am using Warre hives, which are vertical top bar hives, leaving my horizontal hives for multi-nucs and splits, etc... I just happen to find horizontal tbh's ideal for that.

Big Bear

·
Registered
3,021 Posts