Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don’t know about you but I’m ready for spring :rolleyes: This will (fingers crossed) be my second year as a beekeeper! I’m still new to this…so is there anything I should REALLY know before starting year 2? Any tips/advice appreciated...please and thank you!

(PS, sorry if there are already lots of posts like this :eek:)

·
Registered
575 Posts
Hey Olive,
My second year I was determined to have healthy bees and started feeding pollen patties. Well the bees were healthy and they multiplied quickly, so quickly I could not, or didn't know how to use techniques to reduce swarming, I had swarms and after swarms and after swarms. I would advise reading about swarm control by splitting or checkerboarding or some way of keeping the brood nest open. If you do a search you will find some great posts and discussions on swarm control.
Good luck,
Ski

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Ski :) A lot of people are talking about swarming...I'll be sure to read up on it!

·
Premium Member
6,176 Posts
The second year is exciting. Do you want to split if you can? Be thinking about your alternatives for more hives or increases. Think about equipment, honey production and healthy bees. I remember that my second year was challenging because my bees struggled with mites and my delayed treatments.

·
Registered
359 Posts
> is there anything I should REALLY know before starting year 2?

First, it's so refreshing to hear you're still excited about bees!

Second, there is a huge wealth of information here and a very willing group of great folks teaching all of us, young and old. So, read, read, read!