Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year beekeeping. 2 hives to start purchased as 5 frame nucs.
I live near Ottawa, Ontario , Canada
I’m going to manage my colonies in single brood chambers and run all deep honey supers to keep all equipment the same.
My question is about wintering as a single.
Is there enough stores for the winter in a single?
I plan on feeding right untill winter after the honey flow is over and treating with OA to manage mites.
My plan was to get their stores maxed out in the single by feeding sugar syrup untill they won’t take it any more.
Pollen sub untill November

1 Deep brood box
Place newspaper on top on frames with dry sugar
3”shim with top entrance drilled in
Wire mesh or Queen excluder ( to hold burlap )
Medium box with burlap and wood chips to adsorb moisture
Piece of foam insulation
Top cover
Hive wrapped with 1” foam insulation.

·
Registered
5,870 Posts
There is some concern that with a single absolutely full of stores there is little room for bees. Some people will put another box of empty drawn comb or foundation underneath the brood box after the honey supers removed. They can beard quite scarily otherwise. I put a medium of undrawn plastic under some last winter and they partially drew it out as a bonus.

I also put one of the 3" lift boxes under one or two and they did not draw free style comb into the empty space. My concern here is leaving some space for dead bees to drop out without plugging bottom of frames. Last year is the first I wintered some as singles.

My son West of Ottawa winters quite a few as singles and sees no difference in survival. You do have to watch them close as they often need feeding in spring. A lot of bees in the area lean toward Italian genetics and can be a bit more trouble in singles than Carniolans at least in my opinion.