Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How you prep your bees for Winter depends on where you live and what sort of conditions you can expect to encounter. When I lived in central Texas, it was rare for the Winter temps to get below the freezing point. But, here in central Maine, I can expect Winter temps to go to -25*F below zero, and sometimes lower. How I prepare my hives makes a significant difference on how they perform when Spring comes...or if they even make it at all.

When I started learning about bees, I got my information from the largest beekeeper in Maine (Lincoln Sennet, proprietor of Swan's Honey). He advised me to insulate my hives. So, the first year, I did. and the second year, I did. I had a 100% survival rate when others were complaining about 'Winter losses'. I did great for the first few years. But, I am a bad beekeeper. I have a problem with procrastination. I got lax. One Winter I didn't get around to insulating my hives until late December, in a gale, at night, when the temperature was just barely above zero. Some of the hives still had baggies of sugar syrup with Fumagillin (Nosema prevention)...of course, I had been late putting these on and some hives had not consumed it.

The hives that had fully consumed their baggies were no problem, it took just a couple of seconds to rip the empty baggies out, flip the inner cover over and add a moisture absorbing board, then put the insulated winter cover on. The hives that had not consumed their baggies were a different story- it took time to carefully lift the baggies out without spilling the contents onto the bees. I can say with some certainty, that bees exposed to near-zero temps with a 40+mph wind for 30 seconds or so are unlikely survive the experience.