Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Every Spring I find all of my bees in the top deep with all frames in the bottom deep completely empty. This makes sense considering they have a sugar board just above the top deep, a hive entrance at the top, and the top deep is going to be the warmest part of the hive during the winter. Today's hive inspection showed the same thing in all three hives: a small cluster of brood in the center frame and honey/pollen in surrounding frames in the top deep. My question is, will the queen recognize that the entire lower deep is completely empty and eventually move down to lay in the bottom deep? Or will she feel as though she is out of space since she is surrounded by food in the top deep? Do I need to be doing anything to reorganize the hive? I apologize if the answer is obvious, I'm still new at this.

Thanks!

Josh

·
Registered
848 Posts
In the start of spring I always rotate the boxes.seperate the 2,The one with the bees in it, goes on the bottom & the empty one is then on top.Mark,,,,,,,

·
Registered
3,021 Posts
If there is only one frame of brood in the top and the rest of the combs are full of honey, then I would reverse the boxes and not wait for the queen to figure it out.

·
Registered
5,604 Posts
Feral bees, left to their own devices, are programmed to swarm in the Spring. What would most likely happen if you leave them alone and wait for them to move down would probably mirror what you would see happen in the wild.

They will expand the brood nest downward, but at the same time, will begin to fill the cells above with nectar as the brood above emerges. As the population increases the new "lower" brood nest will be backfilled with nectar and swarm preparations started.

·
Registered
535 Posts