Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first ever package of bees is supposed to arrive here in NJ this Monday, 3/25/19. The weather for this coming week is going to suck! I've read different things about spraying or not spraying the bees before installing them. To be honest, I'm not partial to shaking a box full of dry bees into a new hive. Anyhow, here's the weather prediction for Monday and the rest of the week. What do you think? Spray them? Don't spray them? Waiting isn't much of an option since they're being shipped out today (Saturday) and I'm not sure how much food they'll have after a 2-day trip. They WILL have a top feeder full of syrup.

54523458_557430834765112_7686095828779270144_n.jpg

·
Registered
679 Posts
I have no experience with packages. 50 is plenty warm to work with them as much as you need. That's warm enough to fly.

Cold is bad for brood, which you won't have in your package.

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
My opinion is that yes, it will be too cold. It will not be too cold to shake them in and install but they will need food to live on and build comb. A top feeder when the temperatures will be below 50 will barely get used. Make sugar blocks so they have a food source they can use.

·
Super Moderator
Santa Cruz, CA
1,124 Posts
Plenty warm.

Watch the YouTube videos of people installing them in snow...

·
Registered
864 Posts
I'm with dudelt on this. I don't think they will take the syrup. You say it is your first package install. Did you have bees from purchsed nucs and replacing dead outs, or new to bees all together.

If you already have drawn comb, I'd install and put sugar on top bars (mountain camp method).

If you don't have drawn comb, I would consider a frame feeder AND mountain camp. Maybe the syrup will stay a bit warmer in the frame feeder and available to them when they can use it and start drawing comb.

I wouldn't spray sugar water. Keep em dry.

·
Registered