Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well today I found SHB. Seen four of them when I took outer covee off. All so I seen a couple bees crawling around on ground lookd closer they look pale and undelovloped. Are these bees I crushed getting hive out the other bees are carrying them out. Queen is no were to be found now seen 12 queen cells. Should I buy a queen or let them do it? I'm new to this so any info would be great they been in my hive for about a week now

·
Registered
738 Posts
What's the position of the cells on the frame. Toward top or bottom. Do any of the cells have an egg. Are any of the cells capped.

·
Registered
202 Posts
You might get you a beetle trap to help them. If you have a strong colony that is your best defense against SHB. How old is your colony? If the cells are on top or middle of frame they are making new queens to replace the old one most likely. If the cells are on bottom they are swarm cells. If you have a storing enough colony do a split with the queen cells. Others will have to weigh in on how many if any to destroy. 12 sounds like a lot.

·
Registered
395 Posts
Sounds like you lost, killed, or damaged the queen doing the removal. If you want those hive genetics than let them do their thing. Otherwise, locate a mated queen and install normally making sure to remove ALL q cells first.

Get some beetle traps in there ASAP, the colony strength will weaken for several more weeks until brood from the new queen starts emerging.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
All of the queen cups/cell are open with grubs in them and a bunch of white stuff. The grubs are differnt sizes but all look like they just added on to old cells. I checked again today still no sign of queen. But I took hive bosy off looked like maggots on bottom board where honey and pollon dripped

·
Registered
5,540 Posts