Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Winter is the time for woodworking, and questions. I'm a hobbyist, and I have seen BB and MB have tried long Langs, and supered them. It looks fairly easy to make one with a table saw. I have three related questions.
Have those who have tried them noticed an increase in honey yield with them, and if so why do you think that this would be so? Did you use queen excluders with them? Thanks, Adrian.

·
Registered
415 Posts
I have a Long Hive I built two years ago. Its easier for someone with a bad back to work than a regular Lang but other than that no different.
You can see it in this picture to the right of my Langs. Click the picture for a larger view.

Here is a link to BeeWranglers Long hive plans.
http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=7efec43a469f3d2b491b6d246fd176bc

And here is a link to my plans. But be warned it's not near as nice as BeeWrangler's.
http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=684de9a7099b6a1fd3c73678302b4ea

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
I built one - it was done as an experiment and is one of only two hives I keep that uses deep frames. It holds twenty-two deep frames and is the size where two 10-frame supers will fit on top of it without any gap or overlap.

I have not seen it outproduce my other hives, even though it seems to maintain a larger population of bees.

·
Registered
1,430 Posts
I myself would like to try out a long hive. Have plans for 1 that is 48" long. It sits on a treated lumber stand. Will modify the stand itself to allow the use of oil pans for SHBs.

Hive is currently designed for medium frames. I am thinking of modifying it to use brood frames with the idea of allowing upward expansion using 8-frame equipment in a 7-frame setup. This would allow easy removal of supers and the ability to use more supers without going too high.