Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have one hive and am looking to start two more. Here in Virginia we have a reasonably strong honey flow for a good while. It seems that all of the package bees are sold out for this year, is there anywhere to look!? What about the possibility of starting with nucs, they don't seem sold out.

·
Registered
764 Posts
Packages are most likel;y gone for this season.You have to order early like dec or jan.Nucs would be good if you can find one.try a local guy if you know one close he may sell you a nuc or hive.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Austin,

You could try a cut down split with the hive you have. Do a search on it, Michael Bush explains it rather well and the logic behind it.

This is my first year with bees, so know I couldn't explain it clearly.

Pugs

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Pugs, the only problem is this hive is actually really new, I the first brood hasn't even hatched yet, and if I can I was going to add some more bees to the it also, because the population is kindof low. Thanks though, I guess my last chance is finding an apiary in Maryland that has nucs.

·
Registered
12 Posts
hey try michigan there are breeders here that still have them or what you could do is look swarms lol its not to hard to catch them from what i hear

·
Registered
457 Posts
Austin,

You can get the word out that you'd like to pick up some swarms. The VP of our local club talked me into getting on the list and he's called me twice this month. I combined the swarms, since the first one wasn't doing well at all. They never found the feeder and I think a bunch were lost to starving. Now they are going great with the extra bees, better weather and a flow starting.

Some advice on getting them. Ask for easy ones first. The two I've gotten I didn't even need a ladder. Actually one of them would have been easier with a stool to sit on.