Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to bee keeping. I got my first bees 8 days ago. I live in Texas so things have already started blooming for awhile. The bees seem to doing well they are bringing in. Pollen. So my question is when do I stop using Pro Sweet and Sugar water? Also I have my hive about 10 yards to the pond but there are trees between is that ok? When should I see comb being comb. Also do I need a mice gaurd? I know that's allot of questions. But I have been doing allot of reading and watching YouTube. I have tried to find someone that has bees that could be willing to mentor me. But know one does around were I live. And I live way out in the country. The closet large town is 1 hour away. I cannot drive because of health issue. I tried the closes bee club and asked if they knew of some around where I live and they didn't know anyone. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,995 Posts
Feeding 1:1 sugar syrup to a new colony should continue until all foundations are drawn out, or until a nectar flow begins and the bees ignore to syrup. When there is sufficient nectar coming in the bees will stop taking syrup. If you started with a package of bees you should see comb being drawn out to a cell depth in which a queen will lay in 3 days or less. Depending on the type of bee you have you can expect to have 10 frames drawn in 3 or 4 weeks.

With a pond close water should not be a problem.

A mouse guard is not needed until winter, and if you are using an entrance that is 3/8 " high, mice usually don't enter the hive.

·
Registered
358 Posts