Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to beekeeping and installed bees two weeks ago. I was wondering when I should stop feeding my bees. I started with all new equipment and foundation. They seem to be building fast and doing good. Are there indicators I should looks for to know when to stop feeding? Also, do I need to keep feeding or start again when I add the seconds deep super with new foundation to promote better comb building on the new foundation or leave it to the bees?

·
Registered
86 Posts
Many possible answers. I can tell you what I would do. I would look if they are brining in pollen. If the answer is yes, and you see lots of it, than stop feeding. Let the bees do what they do best, get their own food.

·
Registered
5,400 Posts
I like to use packages to draw comb, and feed until they begin the backfill the brood chamber. or a flow comes on.

basically feed until a flow comes on... When your first deep is 80% drawn out place a second and continue to feed unless a flow begins. you will know when a flow begins, because the bees will quit taking the syrup.
The only time you have to stop is if they backfill in which case they will fill the brood chamber with syrup leaving inadequate space for the queen to lay.

·
Registered
638 Posts
Three weeks ago I installed my 5frm nucs into the 10frm box and fed them. I went into the boxes after 2 weeks and they were putting the syrup EVERYWHERE....even into the brood area so I took em right off. They built quite a bit of comb during that period but it looked syrup bound to me. plenty of pollen coming in so I'll watch but figure at this point they seem to be doing all right. My first time too but it seemed like the right thing to do at the time.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,182 Posts