Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do I know when its time to harvest the honey? It is my first year and I know I probably will not get much if any, I just don't know what to look for and when to look for it. I just added the frames to my super last week. I am continuing to feed them. They had drawn out on 8 of the bottom frames and thats when I decided to add the frames to the super.

·
Registered
59 Posts
If you've added supers then you don't want to continue feeding...unless you want sugar water honey.

When the super frames are capped then the honey is ready.

·
Registered
242 Posts
Are you running with deeps or mediums for brood boxes? Honey frames should have white over them, the bees have capped the honey cell.

·
Registered
3,291 Posts
easy...harvest anytime there is capped honey. Single deeps + mediums or shallows I do not harvest unless I am fairly confident they are ready for another box. So right now there is still potential to put on more honey thru June if clover stays on, however if weather is poor the flow could very well end soon.

·
Registered
4,231 Posts
I just added the frames to my super last week. I am continuing to feed them.