Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a question on timing. I've got two nucs coming, on medium frames, and they're going to be 8 frames each. I'm looking at this weekend for pickup. Am I going to run into issues getting them so late? As a newb I'm not sure when is too late. Anything I should do once I do get them in place since the spring flow will be on it's way out? Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
Hi,
I'd have to guess that this is the right time of year for selling nucs where you live.
You will need to feed 1:1 as any other time of year staring on foundation, & needing to get you're 3 brood boxes drawn out before fall flow. I assume you're using 3 med. on each hive for brood boxes.
If the hive is lite going into winter you will need to feed then also.
If you know a local beekeeper, it could help you a lot to learn how the honey flows run, & how many boxes of honey they need for winter.

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
For a beginner Winter is too late. Feed as suggested plus brood builder protein patties will encourage the queen to lay brood. Unless you live in a desert there should be something for them to gather. It may not be enough to extract every month. Between now and Winter they will build up stores.

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·