Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well looks like the swarm I placed in my TBH is still hanging around:}

Even seen them doing a/an orientation flight or a social hour flight this evening lol

I placed the swarm in the hive around 9:00am Friday morning.

When should I take a peek to see how they are progressing?

They were placed in with nothing but a hope and a prayer and some sugar water:]

This is my first crack at keeping a TBH

Thanks

·
Registered
145 Posts
You're going to get a lot of different answers to that question. I'm thinking wait a week before digging through their top bars. You could peek in on them real quickly three days after installation, when you check their feeder. This is my first year also, so I want to look at the bees more often than I should.;)

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
You could take a few bars from the back of the hive and peak in, but I doubt you will see much. But you should be able to see them cluster. Comb will take a while to peak through.

·
Registered
3,291 Posts
In langstroths I look the day of and always cage the queen. The next day I release the queen if I found her and If I didn't try to find her. Usually after 24 hrs they calmed down, 48 hrs is better. 3 days they are down to bossiness and not so spooky.

Everyone is soo afraid to look at there hives. The only way you will learn is to observe. Look everyday if you want, just don't kill the queen and stay in for too long.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Remember that swarms are comb building fools, I would look now to make sure they are building properly and not cross combed. Much easier to fix early rather than late.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Remember that swarms are comb building fools, I would look now to make sure they are building properly and not cross combed. Much easier to fix early rather than late.