Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am grafting a few queens and have an ongoing discussion with another beek. I say that larvae that is 1 day old will take the same amount of time to hatch as a larvae that is 2 days old. He maintains that the 2 day old larvae will emerge first and that we need to estimate the age of the oldest grafted larvae in order to determine when the cells need to go into mating nucs. What is the correct protocol? Also I can tell a larvae that is just hatched-it is the same size as an egg but they grow so fast can one really say that a particular larvae is 24 hours older than another if it is maybe 2X larger. In reality a 1 day old larvae is 50X larger than a 5 day old larvae so the growth rate is exponential yes?
Thanks-Howard

·
Registered
33 Posts
Well, I'm new at this but I think I can field your question. If I screw up I'm sure someone will show me the errors of my ways.

Regardless of the timing of the hatch, a two day old larvae shouldn't be selected for grafting because the bees may not accept it, as it is likely to make an inferior queen. You're dealing with developmental schedule that has a little play in it, but if you stretch it too far you'll get a sort-of-queen. The bees know this and will usually select the younger larvae if they are offered both. If it's twice as big as an egg it's too big. Shoot for 1.5X with just a smear of jelly in the cell. The larva are still greyish translucent, not white and just barely starting to curl.

That being said I have heard warnings that you want every larvae about the same age so that they all hatch about the same time. So, I don't think that the start of queen rearing by the nurse bees resets the clock so much as it changes the path. It's also a good Idea to spilt them up into mating nucs a day or two before the blessed event to avoid the bloodbath of an early riser.