Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning Beesourcers.

Yesterday I went into my hives to check their status. In one hive I saw capped brood as well as larva. Second hive I actually found the queen, but upon checking the frames observed

no brood at any stage. I installed these packages on April 16, so it has been 11 days. This is the same hive that I saw the queen outside of the hive 2 days after install.

Should I go ahead and make plans to replace her, as I am sure it will take a week to get a new queen? Or do I just let it go and see if they supersede her, or give it some more time.

I am a total newb and these are my first hives. Thanks for your responses.

Dave

·
Registered
213 Posts