Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year. I have had a really hard start by capturing a swarm. Let them sit too long and had laying workers. Got that fixed. Caught second swarm will check tomorrow on them. Wed the first swarm swarmed because of ants. Managed to get them back will check on the new queen in that one tomorrow. I am having a bad ant problem. Got some DE and seems to be helping. Everyone talks about strong flows and not feeding. I would like to remove the feeders to help with the ants. When can I stop feeding? How can you tell when a "flow" is going or not and how to time when to start/stop feeding?

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
146 Posts
sprinkle cinnamon all around your bee hives including around the feeders. Bees don't mind and it works ...plain ole cinnamon keeps the ants away

·
Registered
3 Posts
I tend to feed mine until they stop going through a quart in a 2 day period. Usually that means I am feeding until June and then start back up in September (located in Northern Indiana). Wishing you good luck with your swarms!

·
Registered
535 Posts
I stop feeding as soon as the first necter starts coming in. I may not start until near frost.
Dandilion bloom here signify's first necter.

Hives that I start in the summer get fed so they can build up for winter.

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
I'm afraid you may have to feed those swarms for quite a little while. We are coming to the end of our honey flow and entering our summer dearth. The only thing that may save you from feeding as much will be Cabbage palm if you have many around. But, they are still a month away from blooming. I would keep feeding until you get them to fill up a single deep.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·