Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year at bee keeping and I've experienced something that I haven't seen any other messages about. We have 2 hives, one is a Langstroth and one is a top bar. About 3 weeks ago I went in to check them and found the Langstroth doing very well - capped honey and lots of brood. The top bar, on the other hand, was completely cleaned out. There were still bees, but all the honey and brood were gone. It was perfectly, squeaky clean. I bought a new queen and put them on sugar syrup. I went in again yesterday to see how they were doing and found new brood and stores of honey/sugar syrup. BUT, now the Langstroth is cleaned out. In both cases, the hives have had plenty of room for expansion and seemed to be strong hives from my limited perspective. Please advise.

·
Registered
332 Posts
That's what happens when you mix them. They treat one as the office/ city home and the other as the vacation/ country home. You'll find them in one place or the other but not both. :D :lookout:
Seriously, I have no idea but I'll vote for swarming too. Was the queen you introduced marked? Can you tell if she's the one laying in the TBH? Top bars will sometimes swarm on a whim, even with plenty of space they'll decide not to expand but rather to split. What do you mean by plenty of space in the Lang? Did they have partially drawn supers? Some hives are reluctant to go through a queen excluder, it takes them a while to accept that space in the super.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
All of my hives ar cheek to jowl, 4 per pallet, two back to back. So, your couldn't have been too close to each other.

Very strange. You should have someone look the situation over to have a good idea as to what has happened.