Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started two hives this spring.

One hive is doing great. Capped brood and honey already in second brood box. Queen verified today.

Second hive.
Nothing much in second brood box.
First brood box. Lots of empty brood cells.
Very little capped brood, half which are drone cells (very convex on the cap, right?)
No queen cells, but No queen either!
Workers a bit grumpy compared to hive 1. Got my first two stings.

I thought maybe I had egg laying workers, but can see no eggs in the uncapped cells.

Another interesting observation from my last inspection about two weeks ago, the day I put second box on top - queen was on the outside frame. I thought this a bit odd, but I'm a beginner.

Not sure if I had a drone laying queen, or a weak queen, or a queen that was killed by the workers. Would a new package kill a queen if she wasn't performing up to snuff? Two weeks ago, evrything looked fine; capped brood, etc. Progress was a little behind hive 1, but still looked ok except queen being way out on the last frame.

Thanks for the help.

Jim

·
Registered
119 Posts
Jim:
If you think they are queenless you can take a frame with eggs and brood from the other have and they will make a new queen. It normaly takes more than 2 weeks to have laying workers when you have existing brood.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks tnmx.

So, it's that simple? Just drop in a frame of brood from the other hive? Put the frame right in the middle? I suppose I should take off the second box till I get another queen laying.

About how long before I see a new queen?

Thanks again!

Jim

·
Registered
119 Posts
Jim: