Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Italian Carniolan hybrid bees
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It’s probably been 2 weeks since I’ve checked on the hive. But recently during an inspection I noticed that the number of bees in the hive plummeted. And the caps on the frame have been chewed on?

Any idea what might have happened?
Brown Beehive Honeycomb Natural material Mesh
Brown Beehive Honeycomb Natural material Mesh

·
Premium Member
1,314 Posts
Looks like plenty of nectar

Did you check for mites with a wash to see what the level is?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It’s been really hot in central tx for the last 3-4 weeks? I’m new to bee keeping and not sure what to do? There’s plenty of wildflowers and water near by?

·
Registered
434 Posts
If you only have a few thousand bees, you may as well start over next spring. The bees need to cluster in cold weather and if there are not a lot of bees they can't stay warm.
Plus the wax moths and hive beetles will move in and finish things off.
Were there a lot of yellow jackets or hornets around the hives? They can clean out a hive in no time.
I had to pinch a queen in a colony that never recovered from a spring swarm. The yellow jackets were walking in and out in a hive box with a reduced entrance. No challenge from the honey bees to keep them from robbing.
Any beekeeping clubs near you? Attend some meetings and talk to the members. Absorb the knowledge.

·
Registered
Possum Valley, TN Bee Wrangler
1,167 Posts
Here is a club near you................

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I appreciate all the information y’all. I think I’m going to write this one off and let nature take it’s course. I’m a little bummed out this being my first hive. I don’t know what I could’ve done differently to prevent this outcome?

·
Registered
434 Posts