Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I check my hives on a 75 degree San Antonio day. I checked 3 of my hives that are about 25 mins from my house.i have been doing beekeeping for about 2 years but last winter was not so hot. I have all feral hives that I rescued last year and they produced rapidly last year. When I opened the hive I noticed that the bottom brood box had nothing in it, no brood, and no honey. The super still had honey and the bees where about the size of a soccer ball! I need to know what I should have expected or if they will lay on the bottom brood box come spring. I will take any advice on a winter hive check that you can give. The check date was Jan 30th I believe.

·
Registered
825 Posts
Sounds like they may have gone queenless??? Did you see any brood, eggs, larvae, etc? I know it has been a harsh winter, but you should not have gone from two boxes to a soccer ball of bees.... You mention 3 hives... what did you see in the other 2?

·
Registered
13 Posts
What about the food supplements? Did you check if any piece of honey was crystallized? Also, it is good to know what level of dead bees did you recognize.

·
Registered
3,794 Posts
We have had warmer that usual temps for the month of January. as February came along it has gotten cooler and we have been having snow and rain off and on. I have not done inspections but I expect the bees got there first start at raring brood during the warm spell. that will reduce now with the cooler days. We have strange weather. It is snowing now but by noon it may be warm enough for bees to fly.