Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did a hive inspection today and this is my first year. It has been quite chilly since my last inspection. there were a few frames of honey in the supers. When I opened the hive today all of the frames with capped honey were broken like in the photo. At first, I thought it was maybe robbing or something but when I opened the brood boxes they were filled with honey, brood, and pollen. Is it normal for them to move the honey into the brood boxes as they get ready for winter? I think that's why they moved it but there was definitely more honey in the brood boxes. Thanks for the help.
P.S I live in New York
Brown Wood Natural material Pollinator Insect
Brown Wood Natural material Pollinator Insect

·
Registered
6,841 Posts
I think so yes, it's normal this time of year as the brood nest gets consolidated and smaller they move honey down to surround it in prep for winter. They won't do that so much if you have a strong flow to keep them bringing in more nectar than needed so they keep storing it up above after packing it in around the reduced brood nest.

My bees have done this, they have reduced broodnest and packed honey in around it in the bottom boxes. However, I've had enough flows in July and August that I do still have some honey in the supers.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
That honey appears to be crystallized and they have sucked the liquid out. Not the best rations for winter. Is it normal in that location to have rapid crystallization honey?

·
Registered
2021 17 hives
320 Posts
I pulled some spring honey from a dead out that looked like that. I fed with just dry sugar the fall before. It sure looked like sugar but it could have been crystalized honey.

·
Registered
5,824 Posts
NY is now in the middle of the goldenrod, chinese bambo flow, wouldn't expect them to be wasting their time yet moving honey around.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
3,300 Posts