Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I live in southeast Michigan and this is my very first year beekeeping. I am planning on ordering 2, 3# packages from Mountain Sweet Honey Company. The ship dates are April 16,17 & 20 or April 30, May 1. Which date would be best? Also would you recommend this company? Thanks everyone!!

·
Moderator - In Memorium
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts
I am planning on ordering 2, 3# packages from Mountain Sweet Honey Company.
Usually package orders are placed much earlier to assure getting bees. Mountain Sweet Honey appears to have packages still available so you are in luck. I do not know how your weather is in the Spring but suspect that you will want the April 30th delivery date. You will need to feed the bees heavily when you get them so be prepared for that.

·
Premium Member
6,176 Posts
I don't mind early bees. I've shaken packages with snow coming down. As noted, you'll want to feed. I mean, it's not absolutely necessary but it sure helps a bunch. For you, order packages to come in when you'll have time to hive at your own pace. I don't mind shaking a bunch of bees in at any time but I did NOT feel that way my first year. So, order when you'll know you have some time to properly get your bees in place.

If you make your own syrup, get sugar now. With this virus going around, people are hoarding and sugar is scarce. If you have sugar ready to go before your packages arrive, you'll have one less potential headache. I just bought 200 lbs of sugar and it was hard nailing it down. Look around now and get that one off your list!

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,529 Posts