Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't have my own hive yet, as I'm still a student, but I'm thinking of starting up when I return to Minnesota.

My county in MN is zone 4b....it gets cold! Do the bees require any special care over the winter? What's the best way to winterize a hive? Is beekeeping even practical in such a frigid climate?

All advice appreciated, thanks very much!

Hannah

·
Registered
11,579 Posts
Lots of bees die every winter because they do not get the care they need, so yes, they need special care. Because our bees origional home was Africa and after that areas of Europe, they did not origionate in zone 4b MN. So we drop them into an unnatural environment for them they can still thrive but giving them some special care is not an unreasonable thing to expect to have to do.

There are three basics. They should be properly housed, have enough food stores, and go into winter healthy. Pretty much the same basics of life a human would need, and remove any one of those three and death may result. By healthy I mostly mean treated for varroa mites in fall, varroa mites are another unnatural parasite which was introduced to American bees by human folly only a few years ago and many bees are defenceless against them, human intervention is often needed.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
I'm in 4b, too, but in northern NY.

I winter my bees in insulated hives (of the large size recommended for MN), with lots of honey left for them (probably 80 or more lbs just of honey.)

And Oldtimer hit the nail on the head - they have to be in tip-top health starting months earlier so they can withstand the long confinement (mine have no natural forage for 6 months, and often stay inside the hive for a couple of months at a time. Pretty amazing for tropical bugs, isn't it?