Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may be a stupid question but I may not know the whole answer, so I'll ask. I read about people having 30, 50, 100, or even 200 nucs.

I figure nucs are for making more bees, either to keep, or to sell. Is there any other use for using them?

·
Registered
5,604 Posts
They are good for evaluating new queens.
An excellent set up to increase drawn comb.
Frames of brood from nucs can be removed and added to other colonies for a boost.

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
So as a newbie I hate asking stupid questions, but darn I am reading everything I can, it seems like just too much is out there to absorb. So I have to read it multiple times before the light bulb goes off sometimes.

Mike - If I need to start a new thread let me know. But please explain why this would be more effective to create more drawn comb than say a single or double hive box.

Or is me stealing brood frame every ten day a reason my build up is sooo slow.

Darn did a light bulb just get turned on???:scratch:

·
Registered
746 Posts
I had the same question when I started, now 4 years later find them very useful. I primarily use them to make splits early in the season to replace deadouts from the winter, then always like to have a couple nucs going thru the summer and into fall to create resources for weak hives and to "bank" a couple of queens in case one dies out. I've done combines in December to save a hive that's gone queenless.

Other main use is for swarm traps.

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
So as a newbie I hate asking stupid questions, but darn I am reading everything I can, it seems like just too much is out there to absorb. So I have to read it multiple times before the light bulb goes off sometimes.

Mike - If I need to start a new thread let me know. But please explain why this would be more effective to create more drawn comb than say a single or double hive box.