Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, well I have no experience at all and so I'm trying to get into beekeeping for a hobby. A friend had told me his neighbor, who was sent to jail some time ago, had left a few hive boxes in his backyard. My friend wants them out because the bees are disturbing his animals (horses, chickens, etc) and wanted to know if I would take them since the house is being foreclosed on and the bank rep said they are going to kill the bees if they aren't removed. So, I inspected the hives and found about 5 different hives that are stacked 3-4 supers high. 3/5 of the hives were old and vacant. Two remained but are in bad shape (holes/cracks everywhere for the bees to escape from). I was told by a beekeeper to remove the top super filled with honey and just focus on getting the brood out. Boy, was that a mess. As soon as I lifted the top super the bees went nuts and attacked me. I must have had thousands all over me with a death wish. I've been around another hive before and they never were this aggressive, even while I was removing their comb from my dads patio. So, I'm wondering if I did something wrong or if these are AHB's and I should just stay away. I was hit 25+ times in my arms and don't plan on going through that again. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

P.S. I've been doing some reading and was wondering if I might have smashed a few bees while removing the super and might have triggered a reaction for the bees to attack. I'm sure it also didn't help when I panicked a bit and was trying to 100's of bees off my arms.

·
Registered
181 Posts
oh no, I hope you're okay :(

sounds painful.

Did you smoke the bees? Are you in an area where you may enounter africanized bees?

are there any old timey beeks that may be able to help you out? I hate the idea of bees being destroyed :cry:

I've found that antihistamine sprays are GREAT for multiple stings