Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first year. I have a hive I'm taking care of which is not very strong. Last time I checked before winter the queen was there, but bee numbers were a bit low. It is still ticking along but not a lot of activity.

Winter is very mild here but we still have a few more weeks before spring. I'm very keen to open the hives and have a look and see what is going on and whether they are wet etc.

If I find a day above 20 deg Celsius and have a look, would that be ok?

Thank you.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Yeah but I'd be leaving it for a bit longer. Maybe wait for a few +20⁰C days in a row. Remember every time you remove frames you set the colony back.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I will do that. We found water on the crown board an want to see what else is wet. I think we need to fix the lid.
I can see they are consuming honey and still plenty left, I think. So that’s good.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,522 Posts
Have a look sure.
pull frames no .

If concerned about feed or moisture I open at 30 degrees F to just look.
I often have an empty medium on top and fill with cut up old blanket, on week hives.
In feb here,, open and add a sugar block, then in april open again and add 2nd block if needed and 1/2 or a full pollen patty.

frames are not pulled till much warmer.

the temp matters as you go in deeper, shallow visits can be done quite cool.

lots of moisture they may be brooding, it should be OK unless dripping on the cluster.

GG

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks. I don’t think that temperature in winter is much of an issue here it doesn’t get too cold but that is a good tip I keep in mind.

·
Registered
Two 8-frame Langstroth hives
218 Posts