Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today is an unusually warm day and I decided to check on my hive. We've had some rollercoaster temperatures lately swinging from 10 up to high 60s and more on the wet side. About a week or so ago, I noticed a large number of dead bees at the entrance, but there was still a number of them outside the hive drying off and flying around. But today there was no activity at all. I used a small stick and scraped another good amount of dead bees to make sure the entrance wasn't blocked, but I have a feeling the hive may be gone.

My question is, should I open the hive and check for signs of life, or leave it be? This is my first year as a home beekeeper, but from what I've read it's best not to open the hive when the temp drops under 50. This week will be around the 40s, but it will be awhile before it's back up, so I'm reluctant to get in there.

As far as I could tell, the bees seemed to have a good set of stores. I got them as a nuc, and they grew very rapidly this summer. I started with 5 frames, and by the end of the summer they filled the whole box, plus 2 more medium boxes I added on top. On my last inspection, the top box was a little light, but the middle one was full of honey. Because it was their first year, I didn't harvest any, or feed them. They were reduced quite a bit by October from kicking out the drones, but they still seemed pretty strong going into it.

Is there a safe way of verifying whether or not the colony is still alive? Is it worth the chance opening one of the boxes?

·
Registered
3,334 Posts