Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me say hello, my names Charlie my wife and I and our two children live in Bozeman Montana. I have been wanting to keep bees for awhile and need some honest advice. I have read and interneted and I have so much information going in my head I feel a tad overwhelmed . So I'll keep it simple. 1- is it irresponsible to think I can keep one hive in my backyard in town(60x60 yard , small town about 60000 poeple) 2- I have a nine year old and a toddler? Would the children disturb the hive with normal play ie; trampoline playing catch etc...I haven't experienced a hive yet and don't know how much space and quiet they need? Like a lawn mower or the trash truck? I am a fabricator by trade and can build anything so a small fenced area or protective barrier or the like wouldn't be a problem but first thing on my mind is the kids saftey. if we pass these tests I'll post other questions on hives and management. I've checked with the city and there are no laws against keeping bees nor any restrictions therein , they did say it could fall under the same penalty as a barking dog or if I put the hive under a neighbors window etc...so I get it just curious if others are doing this and if there are horror stories, I romanticize about them being gentle and friendly like 80,000 little pets lol! Ok so we'll see how you responded before asking questions on beekeeping hives and methods. Thank you for your honest opinions Charlie

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Charlie - 1. NO it's not irresponsible at all. Honestly I would actually suggest TWO hives as a beginner so that you have a backup to help out in emergencies.

2. The yard space is fine. I would if I were you put a fence around them and point the opening of the hives at a wooden fence away from the yard if possible. The bees will just fly straight up and over it to go where they need to.