Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So is putting honey on the virgin and direct releasing her into a queenless nuc/ hive the most accepted practice?

·
Banned
7,861 Posts
The 'most accepted practice' is not up to us to decide. It is the bees which decide when to
accept their new queen. Frankly, I have never done this before. But looks like very risky with
the honey and not sure if she will be accepted or died from the sticky mess.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,192 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
sixacrebees- Do you like to gamble? Many Queens are killed outright, or even worse injured causing supercedure and
probably your crop of honey. Go for it if you like taking chances.

·
Registered
3,794 Posts
I introduced a bunch of virgins to mating nucs recently. at best I get 50% of them mated. at worst I get none. This was over a run of 109 virgins. So far I think I have gotten about 25 mated queens. I do not put honey on them but I do make sure the bees have been queenless for at least a few days.

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
Apidea mating nucs are made with 2,5 dl slightly moistured bees. I always give them a ripe cell, but if you want to use hatched queens, just throw it in with the bees. When they are slightly wet and the queens less than one day old, it is a 100% method.

Daniel: if you get only 50% laying queens, is the problem that there are not enough drones or what? I usually get about 90% laying queens. Sometimes even more.

·
Vendor
5,288 Posts
Put the virgin in a nuc with just a frame of nurse bees, emerging brood and some pollen/honey. Works for me almost every time. Just be careful of SHB taking over......

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you for the tips, I've purchased some vigins from a queen breeder and wanted to see what others had tried.

·
Registered
4,953 Posts