Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am just getting started this Spring. Nucs to arrive 1st week in May. I am going to try using a veil only...no gloves or suit. I took a 3 day class & this was encouraged by the teacher (state apiarist). No gloves because with gloves you may not realize how rough you are being with the frames & the bees. No suit because we are also trying to educate the public & encourage beekeeping. Meaning...you tell your neighbors the bees are safe, no worries...then they see you in a full suit looking like you are going to inspect a nuclear waste site. I want to give it a try from the get-go, but people I talk to think I am nuts. Not everyone, but most. Any thoughts? Thanks
Moonflower

·
Registered
145 Posts
Go with what you're comfortable with. There is no right or wrong dress code. You just have to be ready if the bees are having a bad day.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
This is how we do all of our queen work. It is a lot more comfortable in the heat of the summer also. The bees will teach you how to be gentle with them. I do throw on gloves for moving bees and such... as much for black widows and slivers as anything else. Extremely good dexterity is important for catching queens so bare handed works very well and with a little practice the stings will be minimal to rare.

·
Registered
3,126 Posts
Bees are like co workers, some you avoid at all times, some only on Monday mornings. Some are great every day. Suits are for when you have to work them no matter what. Gloves are for when you do not know them yet. Gloves are also good for when you pinch one and all her friends agree with her. One tap on the finger will get you three really quickly.

·
Registered
421 Posts
I agree with Saltybee. Have a jacket (or suit) and gloves available for the time you need them or don't know the bees mood.

·
Registered
724 Posts