Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With all the technology today are there any videos that show how to pick up larva in grafting? I've watched many a YOU TUBE video of folks using the tools and have read twice as much but this past Monday when I made my first attempt it was pretty much stab and look to see if I got it. Using a chinese tool and once the blade is into the cell I really can't see much of what I'm doing. Have read some where folks tear down a side wall of the cell to make more space. Maybe that's what I should be doing? And then there's the direction of attack, from the back of the cresent, from either end, or from the front.

Thanks in advance for any info.

Pete0
Bena, VA

·
Registered
2,308 Posts
Pete,

I'm not an expert but have been grafting for several years and think the lighting, magnification and choice of grafting tool are critical. My first attempt was more about mangling larva than grafting. I spent a small fortune on a fiber optics light to allow illumination focused to the cell bottoms and use 3X reading glasses. I started with one of those cheap $10 hooks and found that getting under the larva without sliding it and crushing it was next to impossible (steel was too thick). After switching to the Swiss surgical steel model, from BetterBee, things improved overnight. I have not used the Chinese style tool but know they are very popular.

·
Registered
2,274 Posts