Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new at this. Last year, in preparing my hive (only have one right now) for winter, I read someone had used a quilt box, llike the Warre hives use. This sounded like a good idea to me, so I built one. The idea is that in cold weather, condensation occurs on the inside of the inner cover and drips down on the colony. So... most folks say to leave ventilation at the top, to let the moisture escape. But this also lets out warm air, and when warm air exits, cold air has to come in to replace it. This cold air then has to be warmed by the bees. The idea of the quilt box is that, not only does it provide an insulating layer over the box, but the wood shavings (or straw, or whatever is used) also absorbs moisture from inside the box. This absorbed moisture is allowed to escape through ventilation holes in the side of the quilt box. And you're not letting warm air escape. Sounded like a good idea to me.
Well, my hive came through the winter in good shape, with no sign of moisture having been present, so I think it worked quite well. I'll be using it again next winter, and building more quilt boxes for additional hives.
I'd like to hear from anyone else using this method, or similar solutions. I took off the quilt box and reinstalled the inner cover when warmer weather came. Seems like they will definately need the ventilation for hot weather. Also built screened bottom boards and going to give that a try.

·
Registered
635 Posts