Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend of mine had a couple of large cedar trees cut down. A friend of his has a portable sawmill and cut them up. As a result, I will be getting some untreated 1x12 cedar boards for free.

I'm not much of a carpenter but I've mastered building medium hive bodies using rabbet joints, glue and screws.

Will cedar split using screws in a rabbet joint? Should the boxes be painted or oiled or anything? The lumber is straight from the tree and not kiln dried or treated at all. I've never worked with cedar before.

Thanks - Smokey

·
Registered
6,063 Posts
Two diameter pilot holes gives the least splitting and strongest joints. Use a bit less torque than you would for pine. Allow some extra width on boxes for shrinkage of green lumber. Deeps can stand a bit under but mediums by design are a bit tight if any shrinkage occurs. Easy to take a smidgen off but not easy to put on. I dont think shrinkage is appreciably greater but good advice generally when using green lumber.

Mine got painted. I can tell when I lift them. Noticeably lighter even with a medium.

·
Registered
2,939 Posts
Free cedar? Lucky guy/good friends. Frank gave good advice. I love cedar but it does split easier so do use pilot holes. Maybe it won't be as prone to splitting being green.
If you are not going to stick it to dry it, you need to make the boxes as soon as you can because it will warp and twist on you. In the meantime, store in a flat, dry shaded area. Putting some weight on the stack wouldn't hurt either. J

·
Registered
97 Posts
I'm in no hurry to use it. Would it help to let them air dry until winter?