Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Beesource bee people,

I'm new to bee keeping this year, so my questions are not dumb, I'm just ignorant and don't want to live an learn every single thing! LOL...

I got a little bit-o-honey that I just took off my first hive.

My reading and realization is that I can never have enough drawn comb.

My experience thus far has been that in an weaker nuc hive, like the one I started with, they only would draw comb quickly in the brood box, namely, between existing frames full of brood.

So, knowing that I would need drawn frames for good honey production once they were strong enough, what I did was put a single med Frame in my DEEP brood box, between full deep frames.

While feeding 1:1, the little girls drew out nearly full wax in 1.5 days! WOW!

Now, I if I let them go over 2 days, I got some eggs in the cells, but not tons and I puilled them.

The tricker part was I stopped feeding them, and then the wax draw fell in a linear fashion, I had to learn that the hard way.

So, my loss was maybe a dozen eggs or so (and I often had Queeny on the new frame) to try to get some drawn comb ready for honey. I only did this 4 times, with a single med each time as I did not want to disturb them to much.

My question is what method do you all use to get lots of drawn comb?

Are you just patient and let them start to draw and fill honey supers and then just keep the drawn comb or do you use other methods?

Is there a LATERAL QUEEN EXCLUDER I could use to keep her on one side of the hive while I have them work the quick wax between brood fromes on the other?

My goal is to have several HS's full of drawn comb by next spring so they can "fill er up" with less work!

Also, is there truth to the 9 frames in 10 frame HS will get same or more honey than 10?

Do I need frame spacers to do this right?

Thanks,

MP

·
Registered
2,136 Posts