Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year at beekeeping. I spent a significant amount of time researching the subject and one thing was clear, newly installed packages should be fed to promote drawing out plastic foundation. Michael, I know you disagree. Most advocates agreed that internal feeding was preferable to the entrance feeders so I decided to purchase two wooden top feeders from Dadant. After only two weeks using the feeders I have given them up. The first issue could have been prevented if I had simply filled the feeder with water before using them to determine if they leaked because one did, both sides. The second reason and most important is that the bees filled the feeder ladder with comb and also the inner cover, more bees stayed in the feeders than were down below drawing out the foundation. I noticed the comb building early on and removed it but they continued to fill the feeders so I removed them. Two weeks with new packages and one package not really being fed because the syrup leaked out and all that wasted comb in both hives. I have since modified my entrance reducer and am using Boardman feeders. I am not having any robbing issues and the hives are doing real well. I think I will turn the feeders into quilt boxes, screen off the bottom and fill them with moisture absorbers for winter.

·
Premium Member
2,499 Posts
Good idea to reuse them in a different way...try a mason jar feeder or a plastic pail feeder (that is made specifically for feeding ) place it on top of your inner cover over the hole. I put one Popsicle stick on either side of the hole to keep the ventilation going in the hive. The mason jar/bucket will be lifted up and not smack down on the inner cover. Place an empty hive body over the feeder and your outer cover over this. You can feed the warm syrup, they love it and encourages them to build comb.

·
Registered
82 Posts