Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope I am splitting hairs about this as I'm a rookie and didn't see any threads on this, but would gladly be redirected to one

I closed my bottom entrance at dark thirty tonight, as my new sundance II top mounted pollen trap just arrived. The past two days I had slowly reduced the bottom entrance, hoping to encourage bees to move out the top, and avoid mass confusion. The top cover (plywood) is shimmed with some old cedar shims I ripped down. I'm awful at reading a tape measure, and figure its about one third inch(1/4 plus two ticks):s. The bees can move in and out, but seem reluctant just yet. Is that big enough to get 'em moving out the top entrance? They have little choice come sunrise...

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
"...Is that big enough ..."
should be fine. you might consider a cheap (china) caliper wih digital readout- but as long as you can reproduce your measurements "1/4 plus two ticks" that works fine.
good luck,mike

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
You might want to hold off a few days before putting the pollen trap on to give them time to really get used to the top entrance before you throw in the added confusion of having to go through the trap - they won't like it.

·
Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
LOL, China can keep those calipers, no offense. As long as I work solo, I'm good to go. Communicating my fractions is always a laugh when doing a group job.

I was planning on waiting two weeks (per instructions with the trap) to put the pollen trap on.

Not too much activity out there this morning. I suppose they will figure it out:s. Plenty of bees crawling around the top cover, but no real flight activity. A few foragers are hovering around the old entrance.

I'm supposing if I open the bottom entrance a bit, to keep traffic going, they'll not eagerly accept the top entrance?

·
Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter #5