Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long time lurker, first time poster. Let me start by thanking all you very knowledgeable horizontal hive beekeepers on this site. I have gained valuable wisdom and knowledge from you beeks and couldn't bee the semi-successful first year beekeeper without you. As stated, this is my first year keeping bees and so far it is one of the most exciting and rewarding things I have ever done. I built two different hives this Fall, from plans that I bought on the interweb. One of the hive plans called for the body to be 27 inches long. After reading several post on this forum, I decided to modify it to 42 inches and boy am I glad I did. Thx for that advice. I made the top bars to plan specs, which are 1 1/4 width for the brood nest and 1 3/8 for the honeycomb. It hasn't been much of a problem until recently. This hive is bursting at the seams with bees, so this past Friday I did a full hive inspection to look for any swarm cups or cells. While separating bars I would have to cut burr comb on both ends of each bar in order to lift them out of the hive for inspection. The honey section was bad but the further i got toward the brood, the worse it got. The honey band at the top of the brood nest would adjoin to the next bar but only on the ends. I attributed this to the smaller width bars in the brood area. I made some 1/4 inch spacers to insert between the top bars. Can I insert them now between the top bars with drawn out comb or is this something that has to be done before the comb is drawn? I don't know how this will effect their "bee space" by giving them a wider gap between the comb. Any thoughts, suggestions or criticism is welcome. Thx.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
One piece with 30 degree angle cut to form the guide. --v-- They attach the comb fine. They build the comb wider than the bars at the top ends causing attachment to the adjoining bar.

·