Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Another total newbie question- does anyone ever use top bar “frames” with Langstroth hives? I bought a Langstroth and frames (medium 8) and was planning on going foundationless/with starter strips. However, I would really like to modify my hive to have an observation window in at least one of the boxes. Is it a horrible idea to cut my frames into top bars?

·
Premium Member
312 Posts
Kateowp,

Great question. I've been talking to lots of my friends about this same thought. My thought has always been to standardize my TBH to fit the Langstroth topbar. It would only make sense to me. Cutting the top bars in a TBH it typically the most difficult or time consuming part depending on how you build them. I have adopted this for my hives and think its the right thing to do. You can use starter strips if you like.

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Yes, I am using TBs in Lang-dimension bodies. I am using truncated frames without bottom bar, just top bars from regular frames and/or home-made "sticks." All of them served me great. Last picture is just top bar from the reg frame.

Attachments

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Beautiful comb cerezha! Without the side and bottom parts of the frame, do you have to cut it from the hive each time you inspect?

·
Registered
685 Posts
When I started Beekeeping I built top bar hives, so my 36 swarm traps are all mini TBH with 17" top bars 1-1/4" wide. Now that I've switched to Langs I just screw a 1" by 19-7/8" piece on the top bar so they fit in the frame rest of the Lang. I just caught a massive swarm (3-4 lbs of bees) that I was tardy checking the trap, they had built comb on every bar of my mini TBH trap. Seven of the combs were just the right depth for a Lang deep so I added 3 frames with foundation to get more drawn comb and removed the 3 small starts from the ends. These girls are going to need another box soon.

·