Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been thinking about adding some top bar hives to my bee yard...it seems every time I work the hives I end up pulling a back muscle. I am just turning 70 years old and have no one helping me, so I do all the lifting myself. Thinking the top bars might be just the ticket. Any ideas or suggestions?

Beecuz

"...for breath is sweeter taken even as the last in places dear...
with gardens, fields and dogwood trees...
in forest stands of bamboo shoots, with ginger root and honey bees..."

·
Registered
54 Posts
I am still new to this, but here are my thoughts so far.

In Florida, I would say go for it! At 9400 ft in Colorado in early May- maybe not (lost my bees to cold last week). Going to re-introduce the hive up there next week though, it was just terrible timing on my part. Hive here in Denver at a mile high is doing great though.

Make sure you build or buy one with an observation window. It is fun to see what's going on in there, but being a seasoned beek, you may not care as much. The bigger the window and the hive the better also. Some are 36 inches long, some are much longer. In a warm climate with a good long season, I would lean towards larger for sure.

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
I love my TBH kit that I bought from beeline apiaries. $165 landed and that was with a metal roof. Only modification that I made was the observation window, and I'm glad I did. It gets me so much closer to the bees without actually disturbing them by going thru their home. Last year started out with 1 TBH and this year I am up to 3. I don't believe with my bad hips and knees that I could keep bees the traditional way, but with the TBH, I can certainly lift the bar of comb without any problems.

·
Registered
626 Posts
What about Long Langs? That way you can just move your bees into it from their current hive type.

·
Registered
7 Posts