Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, after a year of using my top bar hive (personal choice after much research last year), I took a beekeeping workshop offered by the local county beekeeping association to get my certification. They opened the class by saying, "Welcome to beekeeping". The first instructor was an old timer who was a wealth of information on Langstroth hives. When asked what he thought of top bar hives, he went into a rant. According to him they were "stupid", "a waste of money", and "illegal in North Carolina" (because they don't have frames). The second instructor was little nicer. His response was, "they're better than no hives at all". After that the term "top bar" was never brought up again. Welcome indeed.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I get the same thing at my bee club. People definitely get set in their ways and are reluctant to try new things. This is my first year and I'm doing both Langs and a TBH. I also asked a question about foundationless frames at my association and you would have thought I was speaking Latin. At least there are some organic treatment free people in the room. That makes me feel a little better.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Hey, it gets worse. I have long hives, which are like top bar hives, except that they have frames, and the minute I open my mouth and say I have long hives, I get an automatic lip curl and "Oh, you mean those, uh, top bar thingies." I get labeled an idiot for using top bars, and I don't even have top bars.

I try to explain, but half the time all I get is uncomprehending confusion. I guess I'll have to bring pictures.

·
Registered
477 Posts
I am about half done with building a nice, nuc sized, model TBH for my bee club. Better than pictures! LOL

·
Registered
763 Posts
I've noticed people are most critical of things they have no experience with...