Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello my name is Bill and I am a noob (to beekeeping) from New Hampshire. My daughter has chosen bees for her 4H project. We are going to start building a hive today or tommorrow.

My questions are:
1. Can I use straping for the top bars. They are not a 1/2 inch thick, but I was planning on cutting them down to 1 1/4 as well as 1 3/8 inches for the brood and supplies bars respectivly. I was going to make the between 15 and 17 inches long (I have seen both messurments here) I want to see how much this changes the slope of the sides.
2. How deep does the grove in the center of the bar have to be?
3. What is the difference between the end entrance and the entrance on the center of the side. Is there a differencebetween the long opening and a hole drilled in the side?
I will be using 1 x 12 rough cut pine for the sides, bottom and follower boards. Thanks in advance for the answers, we are very excited to start this project and we don't want to make any serious mistakes

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
1. Can I use straping for the top bars. They are not a 1/2 inch thick, but I was planning on cutting them down to 1 1/4 as well as 1 3/8 inches for the brood and supplies bars respectivly. I was going to make the between 15 and 17 inches long (I have seen both messurments here) I want to see how much this changes the slope of the sides.
I don't know what 'straping' is, but I would make your top bars a good 3/4" thick in order to provide a decent amount of top insulation. To start, I would stay with one width of top bar, probably 1 3/8, and one length, probably 17". If you want to experiment with length, I would suggest 19" as an alternative, but I would also advise against too many experiments at once.

2. How deep does the grove in the center of the bar have to be?
Deep enough to take a trickle of wax, or a strip of foundation.