Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all. Here is the question. Even if the hive is full of honey does it help to feed the hive in the winter time? Does it hurt? This is my first year so Im trying not to over do it. But I would also hate to lose the girl's from something that I could have easily fixed.
If you do feed over the winter what do you pefer? Thanks

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I lost two hives to starvation last year. They had honey on the frames right along side of the cluster, literally the next cell over. They simply worked their way to the top of the frames and did not move to the side at all. The pattern of the eaten cells were like an upside down funnel, starting wide at the bottom and getting narrower and narrower to the top. This year I am going to try using an in-hive frame feeder using reserved honey after it gets too cool to keep the hive top feeder on and I will also know that when the cluster nears the top of the frames I will need to put some frames of capped honey directly above them. Hopefully they will jump to the next frame up. I do not know if this is helpful, just sharing my experience as a beginner with you that placement of the feed is relevant to the location of the cluster. The bees will not take syrup that is too cold (under @ 55*F)

·
Registered
1,072 Posts