Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 10 hives in my backyard. I normally leave much honey for them in my three medium brood chambers over winter so they eat honey instead of sugar water. Instead of extracting honey in late summer or fall as I normally do, I thought about leaving one full super of honey (above a queen excluder) over the three brood chambers for this upcoming winter. My thought is to: 1) make absolutely certain they have plenty honey over winter, and 2) increase the thermal mass inside the hive to moderate daily temperature swings inside the hive over winter. I insulate my hives with both thermal and reflective (low-emissivity) insulation over winter with plenty of ventilation. I am a residential energy engineer, so I insulate the hive as I would a house. With the severely cold winter here in Ohio last year, I did not lose a hive. I also made an insulated feeder box for the top and gave the bees fresh water in shallow trays every several days over winter. They seemed to consume all the water and it seldom froze in the insulated hive.

What do some of you think about leaving the full honey super on all winter and extracting in the spring when the weather is mild and they definitely have a good nectar flow? Thanks for your thoughts.

·
Super Moderator
10,457 Posts
hi dulley.

having all ten hives survive winter is outstanding, especially considering that ohio beekeepers completing the survey for bee informed partnership reported a collective 58% winter loss for last year.

i'm also a believer in leaving enough honey so as to not have to feed. last fall i left an additional super of honey more than i had been leaving in previous years. i wanted to see if the bees would use the extra honey in the spring to build up on and if that would cause them to be stronger and more productive going in to our main flow.