Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Even as a novice amateur I know better than to undo what they have done, but curiosity killed the cat. Any thoughts on causes IMG_3645.jpg IMG_3642.jpg . See photos. the far left entrance is completely closed, the one next to it has been shut down to single bee at a time.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
1garysaccount "to single bee at a time." I am very curious as to how you ended up with holes for bee entrances??? I changed about three years ago to a thick, plastic plate. Through hoels are just large enough for worker bees with pollen, including drones and appraently slimmed down queens trying to swarm. I did this to manage robbing, prevent mice intrusion and allow easy OAV heater installation by raising the plate ( slotted holes). I have been very happy with the design.

Last year I had a nuc I thought was being robbed. I taped over all but two holes. Robbing seemed to stop. It seems bees do not like sticking their heads into strange,dark holes. After a week or so I noticed the bees had cut perfect holes out of the tape and added two more entrance/exit holes. In summer on big healthy hives I simply raise the plate with a stick stuck undrneath the plate. The plate, in winter, also seems to shed ice / snow quickly.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1garysaccount "to single bee at a time." I am very curious as to how you ended up with holes for bee entrances??? I changed about three years ago to a thick, plastic plate. Through hoels are just large enough for worker bees with pollen, including drones and appraently slimmed down queens trying to swarm. I did this to manage robbing, prevent mice intrusion and allow easy OAV heater installation by raising the plate ( slotted holes). I have been very happy with the design.