Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to buy some 50 odd nucs from a commercial beekeeper in the coming weeks when he brings his hives down from mountain pastures to hibernate on the Mediterranean coast of Spain. Most of the local beekeepers move their hives to follow the various flows, basically going uphill as it gets hotter and moving back down to the plains in as it cools down. I'm a hobbyist so that's not an option and I will be working with three permanent apiaries all within 20km of each other and one of which is near my home. The two outyards are in the back of beyond with no hives (commercial or otherwise) within miles. The home apiary, on the other hand has a few hobbyists nearby with treatment-dependent hives.

My objective is to develop into a sideliner and use TF to produce and sell nucs in the future. The only honey I will be taking off the hives for the forseeable future will be for my own consumption and to compensate the landowners so it will be negligible. Given the mild winters and availability of forage, no feeding should be required.

I will be acquiring treatment-dependent stock of the local iberian bee with contaminated wax and big cells. The intention is to move to natural wax, small cell and no treatments with a minimum of losses. In order to do this I had thought of the following apiary management:

Home apiary: Sorting apiary where I identify those nucs with TF potential. These are then transferred to Outyard 1. This apiary will be using treatments (OA dribble, sugar dusting, brood breaks) to keep TF failures alive as production units.

Outyard 1: Treatment-free apart from sugar dusting for mite counts. The better nucs are moved to Outyard 2 and the failures go back to the Home apiary for treatment.