Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in hazard ky I installed my 3 pound package of cordovan bees may the first Ive checked them 4 times the three outer frames on each side are not quite drawn out but the 4 innermost frames are almost completely filled
honey at the top pollen and brood . today i veiwed some new bees hatching out of their cells. I have been feeding them sugar water since the first and
want to know how long to continue feeding them and also how long i should expect for the rest of the frames to be filled I have a ten frame hive one brood box only with a screened bottom board and telescoping cover
im a beginner and could use all the help availabe

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
You are checking and disturbing them way too much. Every two weeks is enough to remedy anything you are likely to run into. You should probably stop feeding because there is plenty blooming now. Relax and enjoy your hive. If you keep up this feverish pace they will likely abscond or leave you frustrated. Be content just watching them fly in and out! Wait for sundown or just before a rain storm if you want to see some real activity.

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
While i agree that you are in them too much, and Americas is right, rotate thos frames around and checkeboard them, and they will start to draw the other frames. My first year i swear I was in my hives WAY too much, but everyone learns differntly. Everyones approach is a lot different, which is why this place is so awesome. I have been watching mine every few days because they are liking to honeybound themselves this year, offing the queen, and creating queen cells. They have had plenty of room, but didn't want to mive up at first. They are doing well now.

·
Registered
342 Posts
Hi Joe,