Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This afternoon, the bees were cut out of the wall. I was an amazing process. I am still without words, it was amazing to be so close to so many at one time... I know, I am a newb!

Everything seemed to go well, I will be checking the hive tomorrow and will be transporting it to our old house so they don't try to re-enter the wall. I spoke to the prior owner, and he said that that was the fourth time bees had been removed from the house...so I am going to have to stay on top of it. I don't mind that they like the area, but no more wall rescues!

Pres of the beekeeper association said that I will need to requeen in a few weeks, as the hive is a bit more Africanized than he had thought. However, he only took two stings and no one else was stung.

If you'd like, browse all the pictures on Flickr, there are lots....

·
Registered
6,653 Posts
Looks nice.
Try putting a hive box with frames in as close to the multiple swarming place as possible, maybe they'll go into the beebox next time instead of the wall.

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
Monkadelic; how did your mentor determine that the bees were Africanized? It usually requires a lab test to determine, as there is virtually no physical difference between AHB and European bees. Also, if only two stings out of this tearout, not to mention that you're standing there with no veil or other protection, it does not appear that they were even partially Africanized. I say this because every time you tell someone that you captured a feral AHB hive they're saying, OH, MY Gosh! Killer Bees! Thankfully, so far the AHB problem is not that big in FL, but the perception of a problem is very big! :D

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
I agree, there is no way you could have taken that picture next to the cutout, if these were AHB. Have your mentor explain to you why he thinks that and kindly share it with us....
Thanks

·
Registered
200 Posts