Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
Carniolans or what is most available. What do other beekeepers use where you live? If you are anywhere near where Dave Miksa lives, go get some of his.

·
Registered
25 Posts
well that is only true till you get caught... I bet if that guy goes to prision (hopefully) he will think all those queens suck! (EDIT: if anyone was confused as to WHO I was talking about I was referring to Mr. Josey that was the one being referred to in the post about "stolen bees")

(you guys shouldn't edit whole posts... It changes the context of other posts reaponding to your post)

from what I've been reading each strain has differennt traits that will make each one good or bad depending on your purpose...

but I'm a newb so I am going on what I've read...

most recommended beginer queen seems to be the "italian"
sean

·
Registered
760 Posts
im a big fan of Dark bees -- they were here until about 75 years ago - then they imported the Itailians - everyone wanted them because they had "color"

but the Dark bees survive the winter better (here in Washington) but itatians build up faster in the spring

there are several pages on the web that seperate the different honeybees as to pros and cons of them - just have to goggle it

·
Registered
125 Posts
im a big fan of Dark bees -- they were here until about 75 years ago - then they imported the Itailians - everyone wanted them because they had "color"

but the Dark bees survive the winter better (here in Washington) but itatians build up faster in the spring

there are several pages on the web that seperate the different honeybees as to pros and cons of them - just have to goggle it