Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all. I'm a rookie in raising honey bees and need some helpful advice. I plan to plant both yellow and white sweet clover next early spring. I know they are bi-annual plants and, as I understand, they do not produce blooms nor seeds the first year. Does that mean that I will have to replant again the following year to sustain a yearly supply of blooms for the bees?
Thanks for any advise.
Skizzix

·
Registered
132 Posts
ideallym the plants should have been sawn this autumn for blooming next year.

You might still be able to get some flowers next year even if sawn next year, but it will certainly be a smaller plant than you would have had otherwise.

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
Yes, sweet clover is a bi annual, i may be wrong but i think after the plant goes to seed the old plant dies. So what i've done is sow the seed for two years straight, that way i have sweet cover coming back each year. Jack

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
be sure to put plenty of lime or wood ashes on your soil also to get the pH up.
Your right on, i have an abandoned rock (lime stone) quarry 3/4 mile down the road, and in july the sweet clover is so thick around it you can't hardly walk through it.:thumbsup: Jack

·
Registered
447 Posts
Once Sweet Clover is established the seeds stay viable in the ground for several years (that's why many farmers turn it under before the seed sets when used to up the nitrogen and improve the soil), so even if there is a failure one year some seed will not sprout until the next year due to a hard "shell"

It would stand to reason then that the seed spread this spring will germinate for the next few years (not all at once) unless it has been scarfide by the harvesting processing so that it will all germinate at once (for the most part).